Louisiana uses the residence "Parishes" instead of "Counties". Why?

At one time, Louisiana have counties. When the Louisiana Territory was purchased by the United States twelve counties be established, but those large areas proved too strong to govern effectively. In 1807 the state was divided into 19 section, each of which become a local government district. These section were call parishes, which derives from the French and Catholic Church influence present during their inception.
It's because of the influence of the Catholic church. Louisiana be founded by French and Spanish; both are heavily Catholic countries. The Catholic Church's divisions are known as parishes, so Louisiana be divided into parishes, according to the Catholic archdiocese. The southern part of Louisiana, and New Orleans, own been predominantly Catholic, while the northern slice of the state is part of the Baptist Bible Belt. Louisiana is the ONLY state that have parishes and not counties, and we have 64 parishes.
The U.S. state of Louisiana is divided into 64 parishes in one and the same way that 48 of the other states of the United States are divided into counties (Alaska is divided into boroughs and market research areas).

Louisiana was formed from French and Spanish colonies, which be both officially Roman Catholic. Consequently, local political affairs was base upon parishes, as the local ecclesiastical division. Following the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, the Territorial Legislative Council divided Orleans Territory (the predecessor of Louisiana state) into twelve counties. The borders of these counties be poorly defined, but they roughly coincided with the colonial parishes, and hence used matching names.[1]

On 31 March 1807, the territorial legislature divided the state into 19 parishes, minus getting rid of the old counties (which continued to exist until 1845).[2]

In 1811, a constitutional convention be held to prepare for Louisiana's admission into the Union.[3] This organized the state into seven judicial districts, respectively consisting of groups of parishes. In 1816, the first official map of the state used the occupancy, as did the 1845 constitution. Since then, the chief term for Louisiana's primary civil divisions have been parishes.
I have be my whole existence and don't know why.. Sorry!

Related Questions:
Do buses run 24/7?   Circus??   I am going to university surrounded by Bellevue WA. It is expensive to live near. How is the drive from seattle to bellevue?   Recommend a wearing clothes San Diego hotel on/near the coast?   Castro san francisco??  
  • Is at hand a bus you can pinch from Boston to a transfer to Martha's Vineyard?
  • What's in that to do contained by St. Louis on New Year's Eve?
  • Is nearby any lipstick lesbains bar contained by chicago?